deenfr

07.01.2020

On the trails of the ‘Red Gamba’

It stems from a depth of 1000 meters off the coast of the Costa Blanca, only five fishing boats are hunting for it. It is precious, expensive, a delicacy: the mysterious red shrimp ‘Gamba Roja de Dénia’. And it has contributed its share to the fact that the coastal town of Dénia, 100 kilometers south of Valencia, has been declared a UNESCO World Gastronomic Heritage Site.

The sea, the fertile fields of the immediate hinterland, the mountains of the nearby sierras, which are over 1000 metres high – it all provides an impressive gastronomic variety, creative combinations, and has attracted top chefs: most notably Quique Dacosta, whose restaurant here has been awarded three Michelin stars as well as being included in the critics’ list of the 100 best restaurants in the world for many years now. Meanwhile, José Manuel Lopez from ‘Peix i Brases’ is considered an upcoming star.

Both restaurants are the destination of a springtime weekend trip of delicacies in March, organized by my partner airtours Moments. You will also taste specialties in the market hall, watch the fish and gamba auction at the harbor. What are you going to take home with you? Great flavors on the tip of your tongue! And a wealth of memories of culinary experiences, plus perhaps rosemary honey, pickled sea plants, delicious dried squid – and many new inspirations for you to work magic at your own stove.

deenfr

07.01.2020

Auf den Spuren der „Roten Gamba“

Sie stammt aus 1000 Metern Tiefe vor der Küste der Costa Blanca, nur fünf Fischerboote machen Jagd auf sie. Sie ist kostbar, teuer, eine Delikatesse: die geheimnisvolle Rotgarnele „Gamba Roja de Dénia“. Und sie trägt ihren Teil dazu bei, dass die Küstenstadt Dénia 100 Kilometer südlich von Valencia zum Unesco-Weltgastronomieerbe erklärt wurde.

Das Meer, die fruchtbaren Äcker des unmittelbaren Hinterlandes, die über 1000 Meter hohen Berge der nahen Sierras – all das sorgt für eine beeindruckende gastronomische Vielfalt, für kreative Kombinationen, hat Spitzenköche angelockt: allen voran Quique Dacosta, dessen Restaurant hier mit drei Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichnet ist und seit Jahren in der Kritiker-Liste der 100 besten Restaurants der Welt geführt ist. José Manuel Lopez vom „Peix i Brases“ gilt derweil als kommender Star.

Beide Restaurants sind Ziel einer frühlingshaften Delikatess-Wochenend-Reise im März, die mein Partner airtours Moments auflegt. Außerdem probieren Sie Spezialitäten in der Markthalle, beobachten die Fisch- und Gamba-Auktion am Hafen. Was Sie mit nach Hause nehmen? Großartige Geschmäcker auf der Zunge! Und viele Erinnerungen an kulinarische Erlebnisse, dazu vielleicht Rosmarin-Honig, eingelegte Seepflanzen, köstlichen getrockneten Tintenfisch – und viele neue Inspirationen fürs Zaubern am eigenen Herd.