deenfr

30.11.2019

L´Apogée Courchevel

This region, with its winter woods, with grandiose ski slopes and great boutiques – it feels like the Côte d’Azur in white, like St. Tropez in the snow! The ski area in Savoy around Courchevel in the French Alps is the most exclusive France has to offer during winter – and it seems as if the beach jet set of the summer relocated and put on skis.

Courchevel is elegant and casual at the same time, it ‘feels’ very different than Austria, Switzerland or Italy – Courchevel is a new, different experience, kind of snow with Oh-là-là. Also, très chic! And a bit extravagant. For me, the number one address at 1,800 meters altitude is L’Apogée Courchevel from the prestigious Oetker Collection. And indeed, half the staff of the Hotel du Cap Eden-Roc of Cap d’Antibes, also part of the Oetker Collection and traditionally closed from November to March, works here over the winter. It feels to me as if all those employees just shipped the Côte’s philosophy of life in large moving boxes into the mountains.

Chef Jean-Luc Lefrançois, who loves to work magic with black truffles –and who is also responsible for the most famous chocolate fondue far and wide– provides the culinary delights. L’Apogée Courchevel has 53 rooms and suites, plus several chalets.

There is even an airfield at 2,000 meters, the runway of which is not horizontal: landings are uphill, take-offs downhill, and the view from the airplane window is spectacular – not only in the sky, but already from the runway! And the most beautiful thing up here in Savoy at Christmas time? That the winter is still truly winter! The winter clouds regularly provide the most beautiful Christmas decoration – with absolute reliability.

Photo: © L’Apogée Courchevel

deenfr

30.11.2019

L´Apogée Courchevel

Wie sich die Gegend hier anfühlt? Mit den Winterwäldern, mit grandiosen Ski-Pisten, tollen Boutiquen? Wie die Côte d´Azur in Weiß, wie St.Tropez im Schnee! Das Skigebiet in Savoyen rund um Courchevel in den französischen Alpen ist das Exklusivste, was Frankreich im Winter zu bieten hat – und ein bisschen ist es, als wäre der Strand-Jet-Set des Sommers umgezogen und hätte Skier untergeschnallt.

Courchevel ist vornehm und lässig zugleich, „fühlt“ sich ganz anders an als Österreich, die Schweiz oder Italien – Courchevel ist eine neue, eine andere Erfahrung, irgendwie Schnee mit Oh-là-là. Außerdem très chic! Und ein bisschen extravagant. Die erste Adresse auf gut 1800 Metern Höhe ist für mich das L´Apogée Courchevel aus der noblen Oetker Collection. Und tatsächlich arbeitet hier während des Winters das halbe Team des Hotel du Cap Eden-Roc vom Cap d´Antibes, das ebenfalls zur Oetker Collection gehört und traditionell von November bis einschließlich März geschlossen ist. Für mich ist es tatsächlich so, als ob all die Mitarbeiter in großen Umzugskisten das Lebensgefühl der Côte in die Berge verfrachtet haben.Für die Gaumenfreuden sorgt Küchenchef Jean-Luc Lefrançois, der besonders gerne mit schwarzen Trüffeln zaubert – und auch für das berühmteste Schokoladen-Fondue weit und breit verantwortlich ist. 53 Zimmer und Suiten hat das L´Apogée Courchevel, zusätzlich einige Chalets.

Sogar einen Flugplatz auf 2000 Metern gibt es, dessen Piste nicht waagerecht ist: Gelandet wird bergauf, gestartet bergab, und der Blick aus den Flugzeugfenstern ist hier oben ohnehin spektakulär – nicht erst am Himmel, schon von der Piste aus! Und was das Schönste hier oben in Savoyen gerade in der Weihnachtszeit ist? Dass der Winter noch wirklich Winter ist! Für die Deko sorgt regelmäßig Frau Holle – und das absolut zuverlässig.

Foto: © L’Apogée Courchevel