deenfr

30.11.2019

‘Manaakitanga’ from the heart

A sense of belonging in New Zealand: being part of the family as a traveler

You can feel the warmth. It does not even have to be a hot day. It is rather this sincere interest to approach one another, the curiosity about someone else. About what they have to tell. It is warmth that comes from within. In New Zealand it is part of everyday life, of culture, of normal interaction with each other – and there is even a word from the native language for it. It is ‘Manaakitanga’.

There is no simple literal translation for that. In the broadest sense, the term stands for ‘best hospitality’ and includes being there for others, caring for them, always helping them to the best of one’s abilities.

Manaakitanga is a beautiful word, it has sound, a melody even. The most beautiful of it is that it is really lived on the island at the other end of the world. Every stranger here is a friend you just have not met yet. Someone who has made a long journey to experience grandeur: this vastness, this freedom, this grandiose nature – and all the moments with the locals, the New Zealanders. If you would like to find out for yourself how Manaakitanga feels, we would be happy to arrange everything.

Photo: ©  Anupam – stock.adobe.com

deenfr

30.11.2019

„Manaakitanga“ von Herzen

in Neuseeland einfach dazugehören: als Reisende Teil der Familie sein

Wärme kann man spüren. Es muss dafür kein heißer Tag sein. Vielmehr ist es dieses offene Interesse, dieses Aufeinanderzugehen, dieses Neugierigsein auf jemand anderen. Auf das, was er zu erzählen hat. Es ist Wärme, die von innen kommt. In Neuseeland gehört sie zum Alltag, zur Kultur, zum ganz normalen Umgang miteinander – und sogar ein Wort aus der Sprache der Ureinwohner gibt es dafür. Es lautet „Manaakitanga“.

Eine einfache wörtliche Übersetzung dafür gibt es nicht. Im weitesten Sinne steht der Begriff für so etwas wie „beste Gastgeberschaft“ und schließt mit ein, dass man für den anderen da ist, sich kümmert, ihm jeder Zeit nach Kräften weiterhilft.

Manaakitanga ist ein schönes Wort, es hat Klang, eine Melodie sogar. Am schönsten ist, dass es auf der Insel am anderen Ende der Welt wirklich gelebt wird. Jeder Fremde ist hier ein Freund, den man bloß noch nicht kennt. Jemand, der eine weite Reise unternommen hat, um Großes zu erleben: diese Weite, diese Freiheit, diese grandiose Natur – und all die Momente mit den Menschen, den Neuseeländern. Wenn Sie selber herausfinden möchten, wie sich Manaakitanga anfühlt: Sehr gerne arrangieren wir alles.

Foto: ©  Anupam – stock.adobe.com