deenfr

05.09.2018

Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve on Krabi

Photo: © Christopher Joe Cypert

Being greeted by someone after a twelve-hour flight who has already run a bath for me, placed burning candles around it as well as lanterns in front of the windows – that does not happen very often to me! It feels good to be welcomed this way, it feels like vacation and immediate relaxation. And a whole lot of appreciation! That is how guests are received at the Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve on the Thai island of Krabi, where each of the 54 villas comes with a personal butler. And the best part: this place remains just as delightful on all the days that follow – just as attentive, just as special.

This hotel just feels wonderful to me – because it provides a lot of privacy and the villas are secludedly spaced out in the large tropical garden. The only thing you hear is the rustling of palm branches in the mild evening breeze, the sound of the ocean, and the humming of the birds.

The beach is only a few steps away, the infinity pool is huge – and straight ahead lies the famous Phang Nga Bay with its ‘James Bond Rocks’, these scattered little stone islands that steeply stand out of the water, looming like exclamation points. When I look up from the daybed with its white linen canopy, I count them every time, although I know nothing will have changed.

My favorite dinner place? The ‘Sri Trang’ restaurant with Thai specialties – one of four excellent restaurants at the Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve. And after that, before bedtime: the cocktail bar ‘Chantawan’. What will the new day bring? How about a snorkeling trip – and once again, a lot of rest.

ende

05.09.2018

Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve auf Krabi

Foto: © Christopher Joe Cypert

Es geschieht mir nicht oft, dass ich nach zwölf Stunden Flug von jemandem begrüßt werde, der bereits ein Bad eingelassen und drumherum brennen Kerzen und vor den Fenstern Windlichter drapiert hat: Das hat etwas! Es fühlt sich gut an, so empfangen zu werden – nach Urlaub, nach sofortiger Entspannung. Und nach Wertschätzung! Im Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve auf der thailändischen Insel Krabi ist das so, wo für jede der nur 54 Villen ein persönlicher Butler zuständig ist. Die beste Nachricht dabei: Es bleibt auch an allen folgenden Tagen so schön, so aufmerksam, so besonders.

Dieses Hotel fühlt sich für mich einfach ganz wunderbar an – weil es viel Privatsphäre bietet und die Villen uneinsehbar im großen tropischen Garten verteilt sind. Was man dort hört? Das Knistern der Palmenwedel im lauen Abendwind, ein bisschen Brandung, das Konzert der Vögel.

Der Strand ist nur ein paar Schritte entfernt, der Infinity Pool riesig – und geradeaus vor mir ist die berühmte Phang-Nga-Bucht mit ihren „James-Bond-Felsen“, mit diesen einzelnen Steininselchen, die wie Ausrufezeichen immer wieder steil aus dem Wasser aufragen. Wenn ich vom Daybed mit seinem weißen Leinendach aufschaue, dann zähle ich sie jedes Mal, obwohl sich gar nichts verändert haben kann.

Mein Lieblingsort fürs Abendessen? Das Restaurant „Sri Trang“ mit Thai-Spezialitäten – eines von vier ausgezeichneten Restaurants im Phulay Bay Ritz-Carlton Reserve. Und für die Zeit danach? Vorm Schlafengehen? Die Cocktail-Bar „Chantawan“! Was der neue Tag bringen wird? Zum Beispiel einen Schnorchel-Trip. Und wieder ganz viel Erholung.