deenfr

10.12.2018

Rocco Forte Brown´s Hotel in London

Do you have something like this as well: a small home in each of the big cities to which you travel every now and again? A “place of treat”, so to speak, where everything fits for years – until something even better suddenly comes along and you simply reassign the position of “favorite hotel”, because you are just flashed. And all of a sudden you have found a new great (hotel) love!

In London, the Rocco Forte Brown’s Hotel is exactly that to me – it has recently become my absolute favorite among all the countless opportunities in Great Britain’s capital. The question as to why is easily answered: it is very English, like a sophisticated country house, and yet not tacky in the slightest. It is classy without being overloaded, has rooms with tendril wallpaper and it still feels effortless. It has style and manages to be cool at the same time. That is a great art, and I love it all the more for it.

And the location, on Albemarle Street in the lovely Mayfair district, is unbeatable anyway. The boutiques of Bond Street, the back-street galleries – all this is just a short walk away, and the Burlington Arcade can be reached in no time as well. This really is London at its finest.

And as if an additional edge was needed, there is also the culinary experience: The restaurant “Beck at Brown’s” is under the direction of the three-Michelin-star chef Heinz Beck, who rose to fame with the “La Pergola” in Rome. Now in the heart of London, he conjures up Italian specialties in perfection – almost exclusively using British ingredients from the surrounding area. That too is an art; one which he has mastered.

It is no wonder that Rocco Forte’s “Brown’s”, with its only 115 rooms and 33 suites, is part of Leading Hotels of the World – and that it has easily become my favorite hotel in London.

Foto: © Hotel Photography – Rocco Forte Hotels

deenfr

10.12.2018

Rocco Forte Brown´s Hotel in London

Haben Sie auch so etwas? Ein kleines Zuhause in jeder der Großstädte, in die Sie immer mal wieder reisen? Einen „Stammsitz“ sozusagen, wo Jahre lang alles passt – bis plötzlich etwas noch Besseres kommt und Sie die Position „Lieblingshotel“ einfach neu vergeben, weil es Flash gemacht hat. Und plötzlich haben Sie eine neue große (Hotel-)Liebe!

In London ist das Rocco Forte Brown´s Hotel so etwas für mich – seit Kurzem mein absolutes Lieblingshaus unter all den zahllosen Möglichkeiten in Großbritanniens Hauptstadt. Das „Warum“ ist einfach beantwortet: weil es sehr englisch ist, fast wie ein feines Landhaus und dennoch nicht die Spur plüschig. Es hat Klasse, ohne überladen zu sein, hat Zimmer mit Rankentapeten und fühlt sich doch leicht an. Es hat Stil und schafft es, ganz nebenbei auch cool zu sein. Das ist eine große Kunst. Allein dafür liebe ich es.

Und die Lage ist ohnehin unschlagbar: in der Albemarle Street im feinen Mayfair-Viertel. Die Boutiquen der Bond Street, die Galerien der Nebenstraßen – all das ist nur einen kurzen Fußweg entfernt, auch die Burlington Arcade im Handumdrehen erreicht. Mehr London geht eigentlich gar nicht.

Und als bräuchte es noch ein Extra-Argument ist da die Kulinarik: Das Restaurant „Beck at Brown´s“ steht unter der Leitung des Drei-Michelin-Sterne-Chefs Heinz Beck, der mit seinem „La Pergola“ in Rom berühmt geworden ist und nun mitten in London italienische Spezialitäten in Perfektion zaubert – mit (fast) ausschließlich britischen Zutaten aus dem Umland. Auch das ist eine Kunst. Es gelingt ihm perfekt.

Kein Wunder, dass Rocco Fortes „Brown´s“ mit seinen nur 115 Zimmern und 33 Suiten zu Leading Hotels of the World gehört. Und aus dem Stand mein neuer Hotel-Liebling in London geworden ist.

Foto: © Hotel Photography – Rocco Forte Hotels