deenfr

27.06.2019

Six Senses Bhutan

What remains after a journey to this enchanted kingdom in the Himalayas? It is this smile of the people there, which is apparently contagious. You take it home with you. Just like this relaxed serenity, this expression of contentment. What remains of Bhutan is the feeling of happiness. I have never brought anything better from a journey. It all started with a visual flight to Paro at about 2400 meters altitude: many kilometers of mountains and valleys, to be seen through the windows left and right. As if one flies into Fantasyland, always curving around new mountain ranges while flying low. How often did I think how good it is that the pilot knows his way around here and does this all the time!

I have experienced Bhutan as a land of beguiling beauty, somehow graceful from the first moment on, original, anything but overrun. And it’s sparkling clean, almost plastic-free. Even the customs officers on arrival wear traditional costumes instead of uniforms. There used to be a traffic light in the city of Thimphu – it caused too much stress. Now there are none in all of Bhutan.

And finally, it is possible to travel to this wonderful country, which has happiness for every citizen as a state goal in the constitution, at the highest level: Six Senses has just opened three lodges there, which can be perfectly combined to form a high-contrast round trip. Two more will follow. Each is of high quality and yet deliberately kept simple and reduced.

The main roles are played by temples, waving prayer flags, hidden monasteries, adventurous suspension bridges, these mountains and forests. I have long wondered which of the three is my favorite lodge. The answer: all of them. I just can’t decide. Because everything is always different. That is why I would always want to make a round trip and experience all three of them. Would I like to go there again? Yes, absolutely. And gladly already soon!

Photo: © Berglez.reisen

deenfr

27.06.2019

Six Senses Bhutan

Was nach einer Reise in dieses verwunschene Königreich im Himalaya bleibt? Es ist dieses Lächeln der Menschen dort, das offenbar ansteckend ist. Man nimmt es mit nach Hause. Ebenso wie diese entspannte Gelassenheit, diesen Ausdruck von Zufriedenheit. Was aus Bhutan bleibt, ist das Gefühl von Glück. Etwas Besseres habe ich noch nie von einer Reise mitgebracht. Dabei begann alles mit einem Sichtflug nach Paro auf etwa 2400 Metern Höhe: links vorm Fenster viele Kilometer weit Berge und Täler, rechts dasselbe. Als ob man ins Fantasyland einfliegt und immer neue Gebirgszüge im Tiefflug umkurvt. Wie oft habe ich dabei gedacht: gut, dass der Pilot sich hier auskennt und das andauernd macht!

Ich habe Bhutan als Land von betörender Schönheit erlebt, vom ersten Moment an irgendwie anmutig, ursprünglich, alles andere als überrannt. Dazu blitzsauber, fast plastikfrei. Schon die Zöllner bei der Einreise tragen Tracht statt Uniform. Eine Ampel gab es in der Stadt Thimphu mal, sie hat zu viel Stress bereitet. Jetzt hat ganz Bhutan gar keine mehr.

Und endlich ist es möglich, dieses wundervolle Land, das Glück für jeden Bürger als Staatsziel in der Verfassung stehen hat, auf höchstem Niveau zu bereisen: Six Senses hat gerade drei Lodges dort eröffnet, die sich perfekt zu einer kontrastreichen Rundreise kombinieren lassen. Zwei weitere werden noch folgen. Jede ist hochwertig und doch absichtsvoll schlicht und reduziert gehalten.

Die Hauptrolle spielen Tempel, wehende Gebetsfähnchen, versteckte Klöster, abenteuerliche Hängebrücken, diese Berge und Wälder. Ich habe lange überlegt, welche der drei meine Lieblings-Lodge ist. Die Antwort ist: jede. Ich kann mich einfach nicht entscheiden. Weil immer alles anders ist. Ich würde deshalb immer wieder eine Rundreise machen und alle drei erleben wollen. Ob ich nochmals hin möchte? Ja, unbedingt. Und gerne schon bald!

Foto: © Berglez.reisen